The Paraná River is the sixth most important plains river in the world, mobilising a flow of approximately 16000 cubic metres per second.

The Paraná Delta is an immense group of islands that form a network of narrow and winding canals, covered by dense vegetation. This geographic phenomenon begins in the city of Diamante, Entre Ríos Province, and extends until the Paraná River meets the Uruguay River, with a length of approximately 400 kilometres northeast-southeast, and an area of 1.7 million hectares, occupying parts of Buenos Aires and Entre Ríos Provinces.


The Paraná Delta is divided into three regions. The upper region flows down from Villa Constitución (Santa Fe Province), the middle region from Villa Constitución to Ibicuy (Entre Ríos Province) and the lower region from Ibicuy to the De la Plata River in Buenos Aires Province.[1]



Subscribe to our news

Receive our latest news and publications by e-mail.